The Fifty Day Movie Challenge – Days 16 – 20

_If there is one thing that I have learned from watching older movies, it’s that CGI is nice, but you can’t beat the real thing on film. I mean, I’m not anti-CGI or anything [I saw the Avengers, the ending action sequence is as awesome as it is thanks to CGI. I can’t imagine them trying to do multiple takes of blowing up all of NYC and having to reset the building-sized whale] but there’s just something utterly visceral and spectacular about seeing…actual things on film, be they puppets, animatronics, miniatures, paper mache or just crazy shit actually happening. The bus explosion from Speed. The tri-boobed woman in Total Recall. Original trilogy Yoda. The car chase in Death Proof. The alien from Alien. The aliens from Aliens. Muppets. It just works. Does it all require more time and effort and work than CGI? Probably. But almost 20 years later…the explosions in Speed are still mind blowing. Then again…the CGI in T2 is still shockingly effective…I guess whatever as fine as long as you do it good =P Wait, but the most “!!! HOLY FUCK!” moment in T2 was the helicopter chase scene…fuck it, I don’t even know what I’m talking about any more lol.


_Day 16 [The scariest movie you’ve ever seen] – Alien

If you haven’t seen the movies, you would likely assume that all of the movies in the Alien franchise are sci-fi films. Well…you would actually be right. But “sci-fi” is a rather large blanket term for things involving space travel and lasers and things. If you take away the term “sci-fi,” most all sci-fi movies can be classified as another pre-existing genre. Drama, comedy, romance, adventure. Ridley Scott’s Alien is a sci-fi film, but at its heart, it is very much a horror film, and is rather terrifying.


_Day 17 [The funniest movie you’ve ever seen] – Monty Python and the Holy Grail

It’s probably a bit cliche to pick Monty Python and the Holy Grail. Honestly, I don’t think I’ve laughed at Holy Grail more than other movies I’ve seen in my lifetime. But the reason I picked it is that it doesn’t age. The movie is as funny now as it was the first time I saw it. And with a comedy, that’s really tough. Humor tends to age fast and hard. Holy Grail doesn’t.


_Day 18 [A movie that disturbed you] – Oldboy

Oldboy is a movie in a strange place in my mind…it’s really good on so many levels, and that’s what will keep me from ever watching it again. It’s a revenge film, and the revenge perpetrated in this movie is just…so…oi. It creeps me out to no end. If the movie wasn’t done so well, I’d likely have just said “Whatever, dumb shit” and not thought of it again. But because it is really good, it just sits there and it’s like it’s taunting me. Like “I’m an excellent piece of cinema, but would you really want to recommend me to anybody?” I don’t want to tell people “Don’t watch Oldboy” but I could never bring myself to say “OMG you have to watch Oldboy!”. So…it’s just…there. Existing.


_Day 19 [A movie you’re surprised you enjoyed] – X-Men: First Class

It was really hard to wash the stench of X3 from my head. It didn’t matter if it was a total reboot…that kind of thought just doesn’t go away easily. But I was shocked that it wasn’t just passable…but actually enjoyable! Plus, even though it was a reboot in every other aspect, the Hugh Jackman cameo was classic. Quite possibly the best usage of an F-bomb in a PG-13 film ever.


_Day 20 [A movie you thought you would love but were disappointed] – Wild Wild West

1995 – Bad Boys

1996 – Independence Day

1997 – Men in Black

1998 – Enemy of the State

In the mid-to-late 90’s, Will Smith could seemingly do no wrong. Well, here’s the reason why the word “seemingly” is there. Come 1999’s Wild Wild West. What can I even say? To call simply call it “Will Smith’s first stinker” is being kind. It was an absolute abomination of a movie. My lord…it was bad. Just…terrible. Insert more synonyms for “not good” here.

Now, I know what you’re thinking after watching this trailer – “That movie looks fucking awful. Why would you have any expectations whatsoever?” My answer – I was 15 and didn’t have the best taste. Had I seen this trailer now…I’d totally have been braced for shit-impact. But back then? I just knew Will Smith was in it.

2 Comments

Filed under Film, Live, Thoughts

2 responses to “The Fifty Day Movie Challenge – Days 16 – 20

  1. worlddude

    I’ve seen Oldboy more times than I can count. It’s funny that you mention how disturbing it can be and how that makes you not want to watch it again, because it just makes me want to keep seeing it. I’m weird like that.

Leave a Reply

