The Fifty Day Movie Challenge – Days 41 – 45

_I often times think about how the video game industry should try to emulate the movie industry more. Specifically, in being forthcoming with game sales. Movies get released and we all know the box office intake. Games come out and…we have no idea how many copies they move unless the publisher feels like telling us. Sure…why do we little guys really need to know? We don’t. At all. It’s just nice to know, that’s all. But then…why all the secrecy? The video game industry’s apprehension to release sales numbers makes it seem like they’re hiding something.

_Anyways, what I actually wanted to mention was the difference between movie and game length. Let’s say you and a friend [preferably of the opposite gender ;-D …or same, if you swing that way, that’s cool too!] hit up the movies and get a drink and popcorn. If you buy only your own stuff, the ticket, drink and popcorn…let’s say that’s, respectively, $10, $4 and $6. That’s $20 to go to the movies. Average film length…let’s go with 2 hours. So to see 3 movies and get a drink and popcorn will cost you about $60. That’s $60 for 6 hours of movie. Granted, you can very easily get no drink or popcorn, then it’s like…$60 for 12 hours. Or you can go to the cheap theater, where it’s $1.50 a ticket, which would get you 40 trips to the movies for $60, which means 80 hours of movie on average…ok, what’s the point of all these numbers? The point is that movies are awesome compared to games as far as length is concerned =P But the point is more that all things considered, a 8 hour video game isn’t really that short. In the time it takes to finish an 8 hour single player game, you could get through most of the Lord of the Rings movies. Automatically not short! ;-D


_Day 41 [A film that you quote most] – Aliens

So as to not mention the Back to the Future movies again in this list, we will discount the fact that Doc Brown’s line of “I-am-going-to-put-this-in-THE-TRASH!” is far and away the movie quote I have both uttered out loud and thought to myself in my own head in my lifetime and has such a large lead on quote #2 that if I never thought of it again in my entire life, it would probably still be the most likely quote to be etched onto my tombstone. That said, I think Bill Paxton’s line from Aliens is #2.

“Game over, man! Game over!”


_Day 42 [A movie that you would love to tour the locations for] – The Bucket List

The Great wall of China. The Taj Mahal. The pyramids. The Himalayas. Safari in Africa. Seriously. This movie was like a hoax somebody pulled to write off a vacation around the world. Nice try, Jack, Morgan. You can’t pull the wool over my eyes.


_Day 43 [Your favourite music scene from a non-musical] – Puttin’ on the Ritz (Young Frankenstein)

Classic scene from a classic comedy. Nothing more needs to be said.

_honorable mention – Battle with the Katayanagi Twins (Scott Pilgrim vs. The World)

The scene: quite literally, a battle of the bands. Dual stages, simultaneous playing, sonic fury being embodied by dragons and I think a yeti fighting over a crowd of people, set to a fast and dirty punk rock song penned by Beck Hansen of Beck fame.

It would’ve been my pick if the video on youtube wasn’t piss awful quality…but here it is anyways! =D


_Day 44 [Your favourite comfort film] – The Many Adventures of Winnie the Pooh

Winnie the Pooh is a fantastic creation. When you view him from a standpoint of logic, he really shouldn’t be as lovable as he is. He’s dumb as a brick and often exploits his friends for his own selfish gain. But the lovable thing about him is that he’s like a child. When I think back to my own childhood, those two outstanding character traits sum up a large portion of my character as a kid, as it might for a lot of us. We don’t mean to be stupid dickheads…we often times just didn’t know any better. “Why SHOULDN’T I put my friends in danger to get something I want if they’re willing to do whatever I ask of them?” “I was invited in for some food, what logical reason would I have for not eating as much as I can?” But despite these short comings, Pooh bear really does genuinely care for his animal friends in the 100 Acre Wood, and will always try to help them if they need it. His head might not always be in the right place, but his heart is.


_Day 45 [A movie that turned you on] – Risky Business

This is the young teenager dream movie. When you’re a teen and you watch this, you say to yourself “Oh my God, I don’t think I’d have the balls to do ANY of this…but this is exactly what I’d WANT to do when my parents go out of town!”

Honestly, the love scenes in this movie are like the video for D’angelo’s “Untitled.” No matter how many times you see it, you still swear that it’s gonna be different and that this time, you’re going to see the original unedited footage where you literally see Tom Cruise’s penis going into Rebecca De Mornay’s vagina, left in just so the director can say “Yeah, they were really doing it, here’s the proof.” It’s probably a deleted scene on the DVD. What would it have been like, being on the crew while those scenes were filmed? How fast do you go from “Haha, seriously? Woooowwwww” to “OK seriously, what the fuck? Wow.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Film, Live, Thoughts

Leave a Reply

