Netflix February 2016_day.02 – The 36th Chamber of Shaolin (1978)

_I was thinking earlier about how I oftentimes don’t like sharing my opinions on things in public. Which is kind of weird, seeing how a big point of Netflix February is “Putting out random thoughts and opinions on movies on social media to share with everybody.” But it’s true.

It’s not so much that people disagree with me or anything…it’s more…I find it frustrating that when I have differing opinions on things than other people, that people don’t understand that opinions are opinions. Taste is something that we often don’t have much say in. I never really decided to like or dislike anything, I just do.

And it’s not as much I don’t want people to disagree with me, as it is when I see other people’s opinions on things, I don’t want to put them on blast for their opinions, because most of the time, it just is. But putting opinions on blast is like a natural instinct. It’s an instinct I don’t always like in myself, so a lot of the times it feels nicer to just try to not put other people in the position of kneejerk opinion blasting.

…but I still tend to be able to rant about shit and feel people are just dumb for disagreeing with me. Ah, the hypocrisy of existence, I wish I truly understood you.


Enough nonsensical self loathing rambling, let’s watch a damn movie!

He’s been trained in the ancient arts of hands and weapons. But a fed-up monk dares to propose a radical new idea.

Join me as I enter The 36th Chamber of Shaolin.

_The internet tells me that this was a very influential piece of Hong Kong martial arts cinema. I wonder if this was the start of displaying kung fu training as a spiritual growth in the genre or if it just perfected it. Cause it did it really well.

_On Netflix, this movie only had English subtitles with the original Mandarin dub. I’m not sure if this is a good thing or a terrible thing. Seeing Chinese movies the way they were semi-intended is weird. Everybody needs to sound stiff and like English is their second language, but their first language is “Nothing.”

_I’ve noticed a lot of old kung fu movies have pretty abrupt endings. This one wasn’t SUPER abrupt, but still ended within a minute of the final blow in the final fight scene being dealt. I wonder if older non-martial arts movies from China are also like that, or if it was just martial arts movies. I’d love to see a romance movie where it’s just *Kiss, CREDITS*

…I don’t really have anything else to say. I enjoyed it. I love me some karate. I love me some really exaggerated sound effects. I love fights scenes that were major influences on the Dynasty Warriors games. Recommended.


_Stop by tomorrow and see me try my hand at cryptography. The Da Vinci Code. See you then~

Comments Off on Netflix February 2016_day.02 – The 36th Chamber of Shaolin (1978)

Filed under Film

Comments are closed.