Netflix February 2016_day.14 – Jiro Dreams of Sushi (2011)

_Being successful requires some form of sacrifice. So far in my life, I’ve been unable to sacrifice enough to be a success. I think I put too much weight on my emotional state. It feels like something I’ve done in response to the world I’ve seen around me. I saw them at one extreme, so I unconsciously went to the other. But extremes are rarely a good thing. I need more balance in my life.

Unless it’s an RPG. Then min/max’ing is usually the way to glory.


“It’s an art that requires continual perfection. This chef’s mastery is legendary. Savor perfection in one bite.”

Let us experience Jiro Dreams of Sushi.

_Jiro is a world renowned sushi chef.

That’s it.

_OK, not really. This is more a documentary on giving oneself totally to their craft. Jiro is an 80 year old man who has been making sushi for 70. Sushi is his life, his being. The only days he doesn’t work are on national holidays. He’s a sushi master, and he buys his fish from top fishermen.

Well, not “top fishermen.” More “top fish quality check guys.”

_It’s kind of weird when you hear him talk about his restaurant and say “It’s not about the money” when seats are reserved a month in advance and a meal costs about $250. But it’s a humble little restaurant. There’s no bathroom, it only seats ten people, and Jiro serves you the food and then stares at you while you eat it. I imagine the price is less about making lots of money and is more just the free market working. Quality ingredients cost more, customers like it less, there’s a large demand for a limited supply, the price naturally goes up. I respect it.

I imagine. I mean, they don’t really dive into the economy of the place. Because a bunch of numbers are super intriguing and isn’t something that most people tune out. I wish they’d put them in more documentaries.

I actually mean that. Even knowing most people actually do tune it out, a lot of things in the real world revolve around money and business and value, and the fact that exact figures are always glossed over irritates me.

_So…I don’t like seafood. Of any kind, really. I never have. I try it out once a year or so, to see if my palette has changed. It changes in many ways: Some foods I used to dislike, I like now. Some stuff I liked I don’t like as much. Seafood, though? It never seems to click. Watching this didn’t make me hungry for sushi…it made me curious. It made me want to go to Sukiyabashi Jiro and get a $250 course of sushi to see if I’d like the best sushi in the world, or if it’d just be “Eh” to me. I just wonder, is all.

……but damn, that sticky rice looked good.


_Stop by tomorrow when we save the entire world. Team America: World Police. See you then~

Comments Off on Netflix February 2016_day.14 – Jiro Dreams of Sushi (2011)

Filed under Film

Comments are closed.