Netflix February 2016_day.27 – Fantasia (1940)

_I don’t have the same mind as other people. When working in retail, I was a horrible salesman. The biggest reason: I spoke in math. Math makes sense to me. Thinking in percentages and numbers has always kind of come to me naturally. So the method of selling things that made the most sense to me was explaining the numbers of why things were a good deal, or how much money people were actually saving when doing things.

Yeah, that shit doesn’t work. Normal people don’t like actual math. Sales is based more in manipulation than it is actual mathematics. Retail sucks.


“Dancing hippos, flying spirits and a mischievous mouse who gets a little ahead of himself. Pure magic!”

Come as we experience Fantasia.

_When I was a kid, I wasn’t that into Fantasia. I mean, I liked the Sorcerer’s Apprentice, but who didn’t? Outside of that, though, Fantasia bored me. In the category of “Movie I’ve fallen asleep to the most,” it’s probably #1. Rewatching it now, I really enjoyed it, but I can completely understand why.

I feel like Fantasia is a movie that kind of gets incorrectly labeled as a kid’s movie due to it being an animated feature. I get why animated movies and shows get labeled as being for kids. Bright colors work in animation really well, and bright, primary colors are visually appealing to youngsters. But that doesn’t really mean that the medium can’t be used for older viewers, and Fantasia honestly feels a bit too abstract at times for kids.

That’s the reason why Sorcerer’s Apprentice is the most popular short in the movie. It’s pretty straightforward. It’s a coherent story as opposed to a visual generalization of mood. It’s really easy to grasp.

_Not that that’s the only thing that makes the rest of the movie tough for kids. Take the introduction for Night On Bald Mountain/Ave Maria

“Bald mountain, according to tradition, is the gathering of Satan and his followers. Here on Walpurgis Night, which is the equivalent of our own Halloween, the creatures of evil gather to worship their master. Under his spell they dance furiously, until the coming of dawn and the coming of church bells send the infernal army slinking back into their abodes of darkness.”

Don’t get me wrong, I love Roald Dahl books, so I’m totally all for children’s stories frightening the bejesus out of kids. It’s more…I guess I just don’t really think the language in that description falls into the “Plot synopsis for all ages” category.

_It’s actually one of the things that sets Fantasia apart from other Disney films, really. I love Disney movies, but many of them feel like they’re made to appeal to younger audiences first, older second. It’s nice, cause lots of kids movies are “Younger audiences first, older never.” But Fantasia really feels like it was probably more intended for an older crowd, even with things like hippos wearing tutus and dancing flowers.

_Watching this now reminds me of thoughts I had when I was younger, seeing parts of this movie. Like the entire Rite of Spring dinosaur section.  I remember thinking “Why did the dinosaurs go to that crappy looking desert?” not realizing that it was actually a drought. Or why nobody seemed to have any genitals. I actually still wonder that watching it now. How do cherubs and faeries reproduce?

_One of the things that blows my mind is how rhythmic the animation is. I mean, obviously, it’s all set to classical music pieces, but you can really feel the rhythm of the songs in the visual animation. You could watch segments of Fantasia on mute and still sense the timing of the music.


_Join us tomorrow when we find the winner of an extremely competitive contest. World’s Greatest Dad. See you then~

Comments Off on Netflix February 2016_day.27 – Fantasia (1940)

Filed under Film

Comments are closed.