Netflix February 2017_day.22 – Honey, I Shrunk the Kids (1989)

_I love thinking about video games in relation to the real world. Like jumping. In any gave with a jump, it’s just the natural way to traverse the world. Explore by jumping. But thinking of the real world…when the hell do you ever jump? I never jump in my daily life. It’s an action I am capable of doing, but rarely have the need to ever do. Why jump over a rail when I could just duck? Why jump onto a knee high platform when I can just take a high step? Why the hell would I repeatedly jump to go up inclines? That just seems needlessly dangerous.


Four kids get an ant’s-eye view of the world, thanks to a wacky inventor’s shrink ray. It’s a jungle out there!

It’s the movie that made Rick Moranis a household name. Honey, I Shrunk the Kids.

_Honey, I Shrunk the Kids on Netflix feels incomplete. It doesn’t have the Roger Rabbit short at the start. It’s almost like half a movie.

_So, for the uninitiated, Honey, I Shrunk the Kids is a movie about inventor Rick Moranis who is trying to build a working shrink ray. His family is all “Oh, dad, what a kooky inventor!” and Max Headroom and his family next door are all “What a kooky family…” Rick Moranis’ older daughter is a super popular kid at school, and his son is a nerd who takes after him. The young neighbor boy takes after his dad and likes sports and is a dick, and the older neighbor is a shy, reserved teen who is totally into his neighbor and is super excited at the prospect of shrinking and traversing through a tiny backyard jungle with her to deepen their relationship.

_I’ve never been to a scientific presentation, but I hope that they’re actually attended by snarky assholes constantly trashing on people on stage. It’s really not that hard to imagine the scientific community being like that.

_”You know how to whistle. You just put your lips together and blow.”

Bitch, I know how to whistle, and that’s not how you do it. There’s lots of ways to put your lips together, and most of those ways do not lend themselves to whistling.

_Man, the sets for this movie are great. I mean, none of it looks particularly realistic, but then again, I’ve never been shrunken down before, so maybe everything would look exactly like that if that happened. They do a great job of getting across just how small they got shrunk. The kids aren’t just small. They’re really small. Small enough to ride on an ant. How did Rick Moranis dad manage to even see his kid in his cereal? I mean, yeah, I know the dog got him to tilt his head down but even then…they’re soooo small.

There’s a lot of cute gimmicks, though. Giant cream cookie, giant LEGO, giant cereal, giant broom. Everything giant seems wonderfully over textured.

_I was looking forward to watching this again because I hadn’t seen it in forever. It’s cute, still holds up.


_Stop by tomorrow, where we’ll be engaging in some espionage. Burn After Reading. See you then~

Comments Off on Netflix February 2017_day.22 – Honey, I Shrunk the Kids (1989)

Filed under Film

Comments are closed.